New York: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Welcome to Liv For the City!

Before we get started, one might ask…

Who Dat GIF

Yes I am French.

But this blog is not a NY survival guide for home sick Frenchies. In fact, if I have one advice for the 100,000 French people in the City that can also apply to all internationals, it’s to branch the hell out! New York is the most diverse place on the planet so if you want to learn anything from your experience here, you better step out of your comfort zone! It may be easy to meet fellow citizens when you first arrive, but pop that bubble as early as possible unless you want to keep pronouncing Chipotle “Chipottle” and remain an outcast for the rest of your New York life.

Yes I am a girl.

But this blog will not keep you up to date with the best nail salons in town and the hottest brunch spots to cure your Sunday hangover (with more alcohol). God knows NY is superficial, and I would be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy it – $15 dollars Chinatown hair blowouts I see you – but I will keep my self-centered New York ways (almost) private.

Yes I am a Hip Hop junkie.

But I am no Necole Bitchie wanna be. Let’s be honest, no one compares to the Queen of online urban entertainment! Since Hip Hop does rule New York City and – and so it happens, my life – simply expect me to use its refined aesthetics to express my deepest thoughts.

Surfboard Beyonce

Now that we all agree on what Liv For The City isn’t, I’ll give you the real deal! This is about the ups and downs of a foreign girl who moved, studied, partied, job hunted, networked and now works in a City where every door is an opportunity…with 8 million opportunists knocking.

Living in New York is a dream that you keep chasing even when it becomes true. I wish I had known that before coming here, although that wouldn’t have stopped me. So whether you are miles away planning your next chapter in the City, or already here pursuing your goals, I hope you will learn a little and relate a lot to my experience of the beautiful dark twisted fantasy that is New York.

7 thoughts on “New York: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  1. Hello there, You have done an incredible job.
    I will definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m sure they will be benefited from this website.

Leave a Reply

